Author Topic: Soundproofing a Band rehearsal space room  (Read 4981 times)

Simon Ley

Soundproofing a Band rehearsal space room
« on: June 22, 2005, 02:17:09 PM »
  I am a contractor, in a band, and just in the final stages of soundproofing a rehearsal room in the basement of my duplex house.

My plan is to fill the wall and ceiling cavities with 'Fill-a-foam' (I was going to use a cellulose 'blown- in' insulation but it would not stick in the ceiling with out first closing the ceiling and I was not comfortable with not being able to see that the entire cavity would be filled) then I will use two layers of 5/8" sheetrock or du-rock (concrete tile backer) then MLV, then resilient channel (no sound-clips) then a single (or double layer, depending on the results) of 5/8" drywall cut a 1/4" short from the ceilings, walls and floor, that joint would then be filled with either a silicone or latex caulk.

Do you think it is absolutely necessary to spend the money on the sound-clips? And do you think sheetrock is as good at blocking sound transmission as concrete-board?

My band is loud and has lots of low-end bass signals, the room is not that big (about 12'x12') do think I'm on the right track?

Thank you in advance for your input.

Simon.

Kevin Roberts

Re: Soundproofing a Band rehearsal space room
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2005, 03:19:46 AM »
Simon,

Still trying to reach you.  Please call me.

Kevin

joel

Re: Soundproofing a Band rehearsal space room
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2005, 11:48:15 PM »
Hello Simon,