Author Topic: flat roof soundproofing  (Read 7967 times)

uglyokie

flat roof soundproofing
« on: April 25, 2006, 02:51:52 AM »
I live in a rural area infested with boom cars. I'm building a shell to completely enclose my mobile home. The walls will be about 4' away and the bottom of the rafters about 1' away from the mobile home. I have no building codes to worry about. The roof will be flat (1/4" slope) and waterproofed with APP modified bitumen. The rafters are 2X10's on 16" centers.
What do you think about this:
I plan to use homasote sheets to completely enclose the underside of the rafters and install natural cotton fiber insulation in the rafter voids. With over 9" of void that should leave a space between the decking and the insulation laying on the homasote. If I understand correctly from your web site empty space is good. Or would it be better to layer the insulation thickly so it touches the bottom of the roof deck?
I've never used homasote before so I don't know if it can be cut like this:
To separate the plywood decking to rafter board vibration route I was going to try sawing the homasote into furring strips about 2" wide and nailing or liquid nailing them to the tops of the rafters before applying the plywood decking. That would save the expense of using entire homasote sheets as a sub deck under the plywood.
Or is there a better way?

johnbergstromslc

Re: flat roof soundproofing
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2006, 03:36:23 AM »
Couldn't you just pour a foundation or lay block and build a real house?  Just save up a little more money...

uglyokie

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2006, 03:00:40 AM »