Author Topic: quick question for the soundproofing experts  (Read 4357 times)

dwdrumz

quick question for the soundproofing experts
« on: March 13, 2008, 06:49:51 PM »
I am currently finishing a basement and am wondering how much success I'll see with some of the soundproofing I am considering.  It's a standard basement with concrete walls on 3 sides and then standard masonite siding on the side facing the walk-out portion. 

I have a 15x13 bedroom that is such that only one of its walls will be alongside the concrete.  One other will face the outside of the house, one will be against a utility room, and the other will face the living room.  I am a musician (drummer) and would like to attenuate some of the sound if possible.  I realize I won't be able to play real acoustic drums (I use electronic drums for late nights and when people are home) unless I were to spend some serious money and do specialized construction.  With the way this house is setup, I don't want to even consider that.  However, I was planning to insulate the walls (R13 with vapor barrier).  The wall facing the utility room would get one layer of Cellotex sound board along with one layer of 5/8" drywall.  The ceiling would also get this as well.  The other 3 side walls wouldn't get anything since one is against concrete, the other outdoors, and if I were to put extra drywall on the wall facing the living room that would screw up my door jambs.

I haven't done anything with the ductwork (to muffle it), I have a regular hollow core door, and I have 4 recessed can lights in the ceiling (which concern me since I know these can be a direct sound leak).