Author Topic: Portable practice booth question  (Read 2820 times)

thesteelydane

Portable practice booth question
« on: July 11, 2010, 02:17:28 PM »
I'm a professional violin/viola player that because of neighbor complaints needs to construct a soundproof practice booth. Problem is I may only stay in this apartment for another year or two, and so I will need to make something that can be easily taken apart and move with me. It doesn't need to be bigger than about 3 square meters, but weight is an issue, so I plan on using light metal studs instead of wood. I will then construct the floor, 4 walls (one with a door of course) and the ceiling as separate pieces using an outer wall of standard gypsum dry wall, rockwool insulation and a thin inner wall of plywood to cut down on weight, and yes, I know cutting down on weight will lessen the soundproofing effect. I plan to compensate for that by attaching at least one, and maybe both of the walls to the stud with some kind of vibration damping rubber in between the wall and the stud. I also plan on sealing every assembly with some kind of sealant (suggestions?) and essentially make every wall piece a sealed airspace in itself. A closed airspace is a very effective sound barrier, right? The floor and sealing will constructed in the same way, and when assembled I will line the inner walls and ceiling with foam.