Author Topic: Loud downstairs roommate.  (Read 5544 times)

doomducky

Loud downstairs roommate.
« on: November 16, 2012, 06:13:43 AM »
Hi,

I currently live in the third floor of an apartment building. However, the person underneath me talks quite loud throughout the night and I can hear murmurs and vibrations as his voices travels through the floor.

It keeps me up at night, and I have no way of changing apartments since all of them are filled.

I am a college student, so money is a problem as well.

Are there any cheap and good options of stopping the noise transmission?

Many thanks!

johnbergstromslc

Re: Loud downstairs roommate.
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2012, 01:45:07 AM »
Earplugs.

doomducky

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 04:49:55 AM »
I've tried ear plugs, and while they work, my ear canals are smaller than average so they hurt quite a bit after an hour or so.

I can not tear up the floor which is carpet but is it possible to lay down MLV then a rug on top of it? Would that do anything to reduce the noise?

johnbergstromslc

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 07:19:21 PM »
I've tried ear plugs, and while they work, my ear canals are smaller than average so they hurt quite a bit after an hour or so.

I can not tear up the floor which is carpet but is it possible to lay down MLV then a rug on top of it? Would that do anything to reduce the noise?

I thought you said money was an issue, but if you can afford to completely cover the floor with MLV, then you should spend a little extra and get the MLV + foam product sold on this site.  Make sure you install it correctly, with seams sealed, then you can top it off with a rug.  That will give you some decoupling plus additional mass to block the noise.  Not gonna make it perfectly quiet, but it will help somewhat...

doomducky

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2012, 01:54:16 AM »
Would I have to completely cover the whole floor?

The layout of the apartment looks like this