Author Topic: Help... 1/4 inch laminated glass or triple pane windows???  (Read 9006 times)

wistle

Help... 1/4 inch laminated glass or triple pane windows???
« on: January 21, 2003, 07:43:46 PM »
I need to soundproof/reduce my windows.  which is a better option?  1/4 inch laminated glass interior windows, or double hung triple pane interior windows?  Thanks.
W.

A.

Re: Help... 1/4 inch laminated glass or triple pane windows???
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2003, 03:42:04 PM »
: I need to soundproof/reduce my windows.  which is a better option?  1/4 inch laminated glass interior windows, or double hung triple pane interior windows?  Thanks.
: W.
W, I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what I have and how it panned out.  I think dead-air-space is the key.  I live in a small apt in NYC, off a street with many restaurants and some traffic, plus a firehouse down the block.  The windows are steel casement, set in a 6"-thick wall.
In my living room, I have double-paned laminated glass, total thickness 1/4". (So, two 1/8" panes.)  The sound was reduced by about 30% from the old 1/8" single pane.  I can still hear people talking on their cell phones, car-horn honking and the like, but generally it's been reduced to the point where I can concentrate if I need to.
In the bedroom, I have the same set-up, PLUS an interior double-hung window that has double panes with a total thickness of 1/4".  The dead-air-space between the casement window and the interior window is about 3 inches.  It's not pretty, but I tell you I hear nothing from the outside.  Except the dim wail of the fire engines.  Some of my neighbors have some very nice-looking interior windows which slide like doors.  These apparently ran $1,000 installed, in a 5' x 4' window.  Again, this sets up a good dead-air-space between the casement window and the interior.
Obviously this works because I've got a good thick wall to set the second window into.  Good luck.

Doug