Author Topic: drum room  (Read 5425 times)

Lyle Goodman

drum room
« on: July 14, 2003, 02:29:01 AM »
Hi. My name is Lyle Goodman. I'm a professional musician and want to build a soundproof room. You guys have lots of really good stuff on the website, but I'm still rather confused. I want to put my soundproof room in the garage. The garage doesn't get used for anything except storage. I am intending to turn the whole space (double garage) into a music area, with the soundproof room being like a second room inside the garage ie, you'll go into the garage which will look like a living room, then have to walk across to the soundproof room, like walking to a bedroom or something, open it's door(s), then walk inside it. I will only have one door going into the soundproof room. I have been told that building the walls (from the inside of the sound room out) in this fashion, dense concrete panelling (3 inches thick or so), followed by 6 inches gap, accoustic insulation batts, with more space, then more concrete walls forming the outside walls of the soundroom is the go, and was about to go ahead with these plans, but reading your website has made me think that that is not the best or cheepest way of doing it. I live in Australia too, which may make the availability of several products impossible. I now really have no idea of how to go about building this soundproof room. If you could help me with some info about how to go about doing it remembering that I'm building the room from scratch (inside the "garage"), and don't have to worry about the garage doors etc because they wont be part of the soundproof room, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Lyle Goodman.

Boborther

Re: drum room
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2003, 09:09:06 PM »
Lyle,

If you go back to the home page @ www.soundproofing.org and scroll down to the "Yellow" box and click on the header that says "Band Practice". This is precisely what you will be doing in your garage down under.